My Favourite MAC Lipsticks

DSCN1079.JPG

So if you didn’t know, I am a massive MAC lipstick fan. They’re the only high-end brand of lipstick that I buy because of their fantastic colour range, their great formula & because they are priced somewhere between drugstore & high-end making them a relatively affordable choice. If I want to buy a new lipstick then MAC is usually my first stop above anywhere else because, the majority of the time, they will have the colour that I had in mind.

Today I want to take you through my favourite lipsticks in my MAC collection and tell you why they are my favourite. You’ll find that most of these lipsticks fall within the same colour category as I am a creature of habit & a big fan of pinkish/brownish medium toned nudes, although I have also included a couple of brighter shades that I reach for when I fancy a bold lip.

Satin Finishes

The satin finishes are my favourite finish of MAC lipstick – I haven’t found one that I don’t like! They are long-wearing & look almost matte but they are more moisturising than MAC’s matte finish.

DSCN1092.JPG
From left to right: Faux | Brave | Twig | Rebel

Faux is described as a ‘muted mauve-pink’. This is the lipstick I reach for when I am looking for a lighter, pinkish nude. While it is a lighter shade it is very wearable and in no way makes me look corpse-like, which is usually how I look when I wear a lighter nude lipstick shade! If you are fair-skinned like me it’s a great wearable shade & I especially love to pair it with a slightly darker shade of lip liner.

Brave is described as a ‘pink-beige with white pearl’. I don’t see the ‘white pearl’ in this lipstick but this shade is without a doubt a holy grail! I wear Brave at least once a week & I think that this colour would also look good against any skin tone. It’s very much a pinkish nude lipstick & is very versatile as it compliments both a simple and a smokey eye. I pair Brave with MAC’s Soar lip liner & it is such a winning combination!

Twig is one of my newer lipsticks but it very quickly found its place within my favourites. It is described as a ‘soft muted brownish-pink’ although I think it leans a little more on the brown side with a rose tone. Twig is one of the darker shades of nude that I own and I find it very easy to wear both with and without a lip liner. While this shade leans a little more brown it has enough of a warm, pinkish tone so that it doesn’t wash me out in any way. A great darker nude for most warm skin tones!

Rebel is one of the few bold MAC lipsticks in my collection but it is one I reach for almost every time I feel like a plum lip. It is described as a ‘midtonal cream plum’ & is a very easy to wear plum shade. I find that this shade doesn’t run as dark as most of the plum shades on the market & it has a hint of magenta which makes it a lot easier to wear as it doesn’t wash me out. I love to wear this shade with an earthy toned smokey eye in the autumn/winter time.

Matte Finish

Matte finishes are my second favourite from the MAC lipstick finishes as they are very long wearing. Some of the lipsticks in this range require you to apply a lip balm underneath or, trust me, every line in your lips will be on show for everyone. However saying that, in terms of a matte lipstick they are very easy to wear when compared to many other brands out there.

DSCN1093.JPG
Left – Velvet Teddy | Right – D for Danger

Velvet Teddy is probably one of the most hyped MAC lipsticks after Kylie Jenner named it as one of her faves. Velvet Teddy is described as a ‘deep-tone beige’ which is exactly what it is. This is such an easy shade to wear as it goes with almost any look although I personally LOVE to wear it with a sexy brown smokey eye. There are several different MAC lip liners that you can pair with this lipstick but my personal favourite is Spice lip liner.  I am almost out of this little beauty & I can promise that I will be repurchasing it again & again.

D for Danger This was an unusual purchase for me as I am not a big pink lipstick wearer but one day I decided I wanted a magenta lipstick so I picked this one up. D for Danger is a great deep pink shade as it is a plum-magenta with a warm tone which is great for us ladies that just don’t suit a cool-toned pink. I love to wear this lipstick with more natural makeup when I want to add a pop of colour.

What are your favourite MAC lipstick shades? I’d love to try some new ones!

 

6 thoughts on “My Favourite MAC Lipsticks

  1. Pingback: The Products I can Trust – Beauty & The Blouse

Leave a Reply

