My Current Skincare Routine

DSCN1099.JPG

Hi all my lovelies!

Today I want to talk to you about my current skincare routine. I am STILL on the hunt for a skincare routine that works perfectly for my skin. After moving from Ireland to South Africa my skin really struggled – I broke out much more often & my skin was the driest it has ever been. For these reasons I have had to completely change my skincare routine and incorporate a few natural, moisture rich products and this has helped with my skin moisture levels greatly!

 

DSCN1111.JPG

Nivea make the greatest smelling skincare products – they have a soft, clean smell that I just love!

Nivea 3 in 1 Gentle Cleansing Wipes(For dry & sensitive skin) I have tried so many different make-up removing wipes but after discovering these Nivea wipes a couple of years ago I have repurchased them again & again. For a dry skin gal like me I always found that wipes left my skin feeling dry & tight but with these I never have that feeling – they leave my skin feeling SO moisturised. In fact, on days when my skin feels extra dry I quickly rub one of these over my face just for added moisture! They are also great at removing makeup so I pre-cleanse with them on heavier make-up days or I do occasionally use them on those rare nights when I just do not have the energy to go through my usual nightly routine. (I get mine from Clicks as they occasionally have them on offer)

Nivea Extra Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover  I’ll admit this is the only eye make-up remover I have ever tried but I just haven’t felt the need to purchase a different one as this Nivea one does exactly what I want it to. It doesn’t irritate my eyes, it smells delightful & it gets all of my eye make-up off – even those tough waterproof mascaras!

DSCN1112.JPG

For the longest time I did not believe in using a toner. I had read articles that pass them off as a gimmick & an excuse for cosmetic companies to sell you more products. In all honesty, I’m still not 100% sure what they really do. (I can hear many horrified women at the thought of me saying such a thing) However, a few months ago I decided to bite the bullet & purchase a toner to see if it made a difference. I follow the general rule & apply my toner after cleansing.

Simple Soothing Facial Toner I picked this up when I was visiting back in the UK after reading that people with dry skin should choose a toner without alcohol to avoid drying out the skin. Since adding this toner into my skincare regime I have found that every little bit of make-up is now being removed in the evenings (I was shocked when i first started using it & I looked down at the toner-soaked cotton pad to find traces of make-up on there!) and my skin also feels that little bit cleaner without feeling dry or tight.

DSCN1110.JPG

Clicks Sweet Almond Oil After doing research into natural oils for dry skin, sweet almond oil kept coming up again & again – and for good reason. I use this morning & night to remove my make-up & to cleanse my skin. Oils are fantastic for removing makeup as they just melt it away quickly. This oil is light in texture and gets right down into my skin to remove dirt & debris & because it contains vitamin A it can help to reduce any break-outs. I just rub it over my skin, wash it away thoroughly with water & then follow with toner to remove any traces left on the surface of my skin. I got mine from Clicks but Dis-Chem also do the same oil for a very similar price!

SOIL Organic Argan Oil I purchased this from Dis-Chem & I use this as a daily moisturiser both morning & night. Argan Oil is full of vitamins A & E so is great for anti-aging while its high linoleic acid content helps to reduce spots & keep future spots at bay while also reducing inflammation. This oil feels so light on the skin & is quickly absorbed making it great a great moisturiser even before you apply your make-up. It’s such a great product as it leaves my skin soft, moisturised & glowing!

DSCN1109.JPG

Serums are an absolute must for protecting against the signs of ageing. Even if you’re in your twenties like I am I would still recommend incorporating a serum into your routine as prevention is better than cure. I follow my cleansing & toning with my serum before applying my moisturiser.

Nip + Fab Dragon’s Blood Plumping Serum The name of this product is incredibly random & I’m not such a fan of the packaging but I do like what is inside. Being in my mid-twenties I (thankfully) do not have wrinkles or sagging skin yet so I haven’t noticed my skin feeling/looking plumper or my fine lines reduced. However, I love this serum because of the extra hydration it gives me. I love that it is lightweight & easily absorbed into my skin. It’s a great product for dry skin gals before you apply your daily moisturiser to give you a hydration boost & anything that can help to prevent future wrinkles is good with me!

DSCN1114.JPG

Like the toner scenario mentioned earlier I’m going to make many women out there gasp – this is only the second eye cream I’ve ever bought in my life. For the longest time I didn’t believe that we needed an eye cream but now that I’m in my mid-twenties I thought it was about time that I started using one. I use my eye cream every evening before applying my nightly moisturiser.

Superdrug Vitamin E Nourishing Eye Cream As mentioned this is only the second eye cream I have ever owned so I am in no way an expert. That being said, I purchased this particular one when I was in the UK because the Superdrug Vitamin E range is both affordable & good quality. Vitamin E is an anti-oxidant that protects the skin from free-radicals which can damage collagen & lead to skin dryness, fine lines & wrinkles. This means that a vitamin E rich eye cream is going to do wonders for your under eye area. This cream comes in a handy squeezy tube, isn’t greasy & leaves my under eyes feeling so hydrated!

DSCN1113.JPG

Last but not least are the face masks – my favourite part of any skincare routine. I switch between these two masks & I use a mask once per week to control breakouts or twice a week if I’m having a particularly bad skin week!

The Body Shop Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask Yikes that was a mouthful! If you are a fan of charcoal face masks & you haven’t tried this one you need to rush to The Body Shop & buy it – it is absolutely delightful! This mask is only left on for 10 minutes which is great if you’re in a hurry & it leaves my skin feeling so soft & so clean. It contains (lumps?) which exfoliate the skin as you wash it off & it has a delightful tingling feeling which makes your skin feel just wonderful. I truly cannot recommend this mask enough & I’ve heard that its a dupe for the super expensive Glam Glow mask!

L’oreal Pure Clay Detox Mask When the Pure Clay mask were released by L’oreal last year they exploded & for good reason. This is the only mask I have tried from the range but it has really helped to control my break outs. After I first used this mask I broke out but that isn’t a bad thing when it comes to charcoal masks as they pull out all of the impurities in your skin. Now I use this when I can see a break-out starting so that I can pull all the crap out of skin before it gets worse or it fast-forwards my break-out to make my skin clear up more quickly. I prefer The Body Shop mask because of how my skin feels afterwards however this is a great cheaper alternative & I have already repurchased it!

What are your favourite skincare products & what would you recommend?

5 thoughts on “My Current Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: | My Travel Essentials| – Beauty & The Blouse

  2. Pingback: | Updated Skincare Regime | – Beauty & The Blouse

Leave a Reply

