| Get To Know Me |

Get to know me.png

Life has been hectic this past two weeks & I feel like my blog has been suffering a little as a result of this. Only bloggers will know just how time-consuming it can be to take blog photos & write blog posts, so when life takes over its difficult to squeeze in the time.

Excuses aside, I wanted to write about something a little different from my usual beauty posts. While I love all things beauty & fashion related, variety is the spice of life & I like to change it up every now & again.

I love to hear & read about people’s stories, their favourites, their dislikes & just what makes them unique, which is why I thought I would take the opportunity to let you see into my life by doing the Get To Know Me 25 Questions tag. So here goes:

Question 1 – What is your middle name?

My middle name is Elizabeth which I really am quite fond of. My parents didn’t name me after anyone but when my great-grandmother died they discovered that her nickname wasn’t in fact her real name (which everyone thought it was), her real name was Elizabeth! So it turned out to be a great choice after all.

Question 2 – Share your favourite subject in high school

I just cannot narrow it down to one subject so I would have to say Biology & Business Studies. I love learning & always have done but these two subjects were the ones that I loved learning most at school. I loved biology because I am a nerd when it comes to learning about the human body, how it functions & why it functions in that way & I loved Business Studies because I am very much a business minded lady & have always loved studying & reading up on the business world – which is the main reason why I am now a business owner.

Question 3 – What is your favourite drink?

If we’re talking alcoholic drinks then I would opt for a glass of rose wine or a cosmopolitan (such stereotypical feminine drinks I know) or if I’m going for something non-alcoholic then I would usually choose either a diet coke (on very rare occasions) or good old-fashioned tap water with ice & lemon – really pushing the boat out I know!

Question 4 – What is your favourite song at the moment?

My friends always laugh at me because I’m always behind on new music releases – I’m just much more of a movie gal than a music gal so I don’t really keep up with the charts. My favourite song at the moment is from a YouTube clip featuring a sing off between Conor Maynard & Alex Aiono which you can find here. Those guys are seriously talented & they sing the kind of music that I just love.

Question 5 – What would you name your children?

Being on the right side of 25 (although not for much longer) I am not planning on having any little ones for about 5/6 years so I haven’t really given it much thought. Although I do prefer traditional names like Charlie & Lily.

Question 6 – Have you participated in any sports?

In all honesty I am in no way sporty & I never have been. I come from a family of sporty people but I was always the black sheep when it came to sports. I do however love going to the gym but I don’t think that counts as a sport. Does it?!

Question 7 – What is your favourite book?

My favourite will forever & always been the Harry Potter series. I am proud to be an ultimate Harry Potter nerd!

Question 8 – What is your favourite colour?

Honestly, I love black & white – I know, how boring right?! But if I had to choose a real colour I’d go for a nice cool-toned dusky pink.

Question 9 – What is your favourite animal?

Dogs, dogs, dogs. I am really quite the crazy dog lady. Since I moved to the other side of the world, leaving my sister’s beautiful dog behind, my crazy dog lady-ness has been bumped up a level. My poor boyfriend has to deal with lots of excited squeals when we visit someone with a dog. They are just the most loyal, loving animals & they deserve all the love & care in the world. Okay, okay, I’ll stop now.

Question 10 – What is your favourite perfume?

I am such a sucker for anything soft, sweet & lightly floral. You can find my blog post all about my favourite perfumes here

Question 11 – What is your favourite holiday?

I have a feeling that this is an American tag so if we’re talking about a holiday in the American context then I’ve got to say Christmas. When I say I love it, I mostly love the run up to Christmas when the family gets together, it’s cold & there are decorations everywhere. Having a sibling living far from home & with me living on the other side of the world, I have come to associate Christmas with the coming together of my family – it’s one of the few times of year when we are all together & I just love that. Those moments are priceless.

Question 12 – On a scale from 1 – 10, rate your childhood.

Without a blink of an eye I’m going with a 10. I’m very blessed to have grown up in a safe, stable home with loving parents & siblings around me. My memories of childhood are playing outside with my friends until bedtime & my only worry was having to get up for school in the morning & doing my homework when I got home.

Question 13 – Have you been out of the country?

I have indeed. I am originally from Ireland but I moved to South Africa last year. You can read about my story here. I have also been to Hong Kong, Spain, Greece, England, Scotland & I’m travelling to Italy next month. Woohoo for pizza, pasta & gelato!

Question 14 – Do you speak any different languages?

I learnt French at school although to be perfectly honest I have forgotten most of what I was taught over the years. I have always wanted to be fluent in a second language so I am currently learning Spanish in my free time as I have always thought it to be a beautiful sounding language.

 Question 15 – Do you have any siblings?

I do, I have an older sister & brother whom I miss so dearly.

Question 16 – What is your favourite store?

I am such a Zara lover. I love how fashion forward they are and how affordable their clothing is. Some of my favourite pieces in my wardrobe are from Zara as they offer fantastic, high quality pieces that really stand out against their high street competitors.

Question 17 – What is your favourite restaurant?

If you have ever visited South Africa before then I can guarantee that you will have been blown away by the standard of restaurants here – they blow restaurants in my home country out of the water! My favourite restaurants here are KOI (an Asian restaurant) and Crawdaddy’s – home of great sized portions & one of the best steaks you’ll ever have.

Question 18 – Did you like school?

As I mentioned I have always loved learning so I loved that aspect of school, however I also just could not wait to leave & go to university. Be careful what you wish for! Growing up I always disagreed with ‘grown ups’ who said “Your school years are the best years of your life” now I wish I had listened to them & made the most of it because they really were right. Gone are the days of no responsibility & your biggest worry being your homework & which boy fancied you.

Question 19 – Who are some of your favourite YouTubers?

I am always following & discovering new YouTubers but some of the content creators that I have followed & watched for some time now are:

 Tati, Lydia Elise Millen, The Sparkleicious, Wayne Goss, Wild Kat Makeup, Carly Musleh, Barbara Rossi, N1kk1sSecr3t & ChaChaCakes

Question 20 – What is your favourite movie? 

I am such a movie lover. There’s nothing better than curling up with snacks (usually naughty ones) & getting absorbed in a great movie. Some of my favourites to date are Pulp Fiction, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Batman Trilogy (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight Rises) Pirates of The Caribbean & The Silence of the Lambs.

Question 21 – What are some of your favourite TV shows? 

Breaking Bad, Luther, Happy Valley, & Mad Men. Is it obvious I like crime series?

Question 22 – PC or MAC? 

I have only ever used PC as I’m familiar with their software. Not to mention, MAC’s are HELLA expensive. My boyfriend has a MAC & he loves it but any time I use his laptop I just find it so difficult to work with – And I like to think of myself as tech-savvy!

Question 23 – What phone do you have?

I have been an iPhone girl for about 4 years & I will always continue to be an iPhone user. It’s like Pringles – once you pop you can’t stop!

Question 24 – How tall are you?

I’m a relatively tall height of 5’8. It’s funny because growing up I used to hate how tall I was but now that I’m older I’ve realised that I’m really not as tall as I felt & I’ve grown to like my height.

Question 25 – Do you have any pets?

Well…technically she isn’t really mine, but I like to think that I have a black Labrador called Poppy. Really she is half mine as she lived with me for about 3 years. She’s just the best dog. So clever, so loving & just the best!

Well that’s the end of the tag folks, I don’t know how many people found me interesting enough to get to the end but I really enjoyed doing this tag & I hope it helped you to get to know me better. Have a wonderful day!

One thought on “| Get To Know Me |

Leave a Reply

