| May Empties |

DSCN1250.JPG

Another month has passed & I’m pleased to say I used up a few more products within the month of May. As a beauty fanatic, I get a satisfied feeling when I finish products because let’s be honest, beauty fanatics can be boarder-line hoarders with many more products than we need. I enjoy Empties posts as it gives me a chance to tell you about a bunch of different products that I have used long enough to finish them, what I thought of them & if I would recommend/repurchase them again. So let’s get started!

Bondi Sands Self Tanning Foam in Dark

Now that it’s winter in South Africa I haven’t been able to get outside & catch some rays as often as I’d like as, believe it or not, it does get cold here (well compared to the 20-30 degree heat we’re used to.) Due to this lack of sun-bathing I’ve watched my skin get lighter & lighter, & every avid self tanner knows that life is just better with a tan so I’ve found myself applying fake tan about once a week to keep my pale skin at bay. Bondi Sands is my go-to self tanner since it launched in the UK a few years ago & I’ve spoken about it before in a little more detail in my The Products I Can Trust post.  It gives me such a beautiful dark colour that applies easily & has a streak free finish (provided that you blend it properly of course). It also smells of coconut which I LOVE although I will warn you that you will still smell that infamous fake tan ‘biscuit’ smell within about 1-2 hours of application. One thing I will also note is that it hasn’t been wearing as long as once did & I’ve been finding that after about 4-5 days the tan has faded so Bondi Sands may have changed up the formula . These things aside I would highly recommend this tan & it is why I have repurchased it religiously for several years.  I’m actually a little sad that I finished another bottle this month as it means I only have one bottle left from my UK stash so I’m going to have to find a new favourite self tanner out here in SA – if any lovely ladies have any recommendations for a great tan that I can buy here please let me know!

The Righteous Butter by Soap & Glory

With it being winter I’ve found that I just cannot go without applying a body moisturiser as my skin feels tight, dry & itchy without it but in the month of May The Righteous Butter was an absolute saviour for me. Soap & Glory are well known for their delicious smelling products & this body butter is no exception. The Righteous Butter contains Soap & Glory’s Original Pink fragrance which is described as: ‘leafy greens, bergamot and mandarin, with a floral & fruity middle note followed by soft, sexy, musk, oakmoss, amber and woody notes.’ Basically it contains all the scents I love & smells delightfully feminine. I have previously spoken about Soap & Glory moisturisers in my April Empties where I mentioned that I much prefer their butters over their lotions because the butters are so thick & moisturising. You can literally feel the moisture in your skin at the end of the day. Soap & Glory can be a little pricier than some of their high street competitors but in my opinion, for a big 300ml tub of good quality moisturiser,  I think £10 is a pretty reasonable price. I would recommend this product to anyone who loves feminine scented products & has dry skin.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Illuminating Moisture Cream

I had purchased this product off an online beauty discount store a while back & after a little research I have found that this product is no longer for sale in The Body Shop so I do apologise & I won’t talk about it too much for that reason. This moisturiser isn’t as moisturising as the regular Vitamin E moisturiser from The Body Shop & I found that I had to apply more product than I normally would to ensure that my skin was sufficiently moisturised. This product contains a pink iridescence which gives that ‘illuminated look’ which I did love for making my skin look healthy & glowy. It’s so unfortunate that The Body Shop discontinued this product as it would have been perfect for the glowing skin trend that is everywhere these days.

Rimmel Kate Salon Pro nail polish in 237 Soul Session

This polish has unfortunately gotten to the gloopy, almost empty stage of its life & I just don’t want to fight with it so it’s just got to go. This was a beautiful polish & it has been my favourite polish shade from the time I bought it as it is the most perfect shade of pinkish nude that I can imagine would suit every skin tone. It wore as well as a nail polish can & it was easy to apply a streak free finish – which isn’t always the case with light nude shades. I used this shade both as an all-over nail colour & also for a slightly different French nail. I would most certainly recommend this nail polish & I will be repurchasing it again.

Leave a Reply

