| My Best of the Best Highlighters |

 

DSCN1266

I have been obsessed with highlighters for many years, in fact long before the highlighter trend really kicked off.  Why? Because highlighters do absolute wonders for your skin in making it look healthy & making you look like a glowing goddess.

Over the years I have tried a ton of different highlighters some which I absolutely hated (the glittery ones that make you look like a disco ball) & some which I have absolutely loved. With the growing trend of a popping highlight, a trend which doesn’t seem to be going anywhere any time soon, I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity to talk about my favourite highlighting products.

DSCN1273

Makeup Revolution Ultra Blush Palette in Golden Sugar

To this day I still cannot understand why Makeup Revolution has marketed this as a blush palette because to me these really aren’t blush shades (unless you want to glow from every single inch of your face of course). In my eyes this is most definitely a highlighting palette & a good one at that. I don’t use all of the shades in this palette such as the white because I am just not a fan of pure white highlighters in fear of having that obvious, solid line of highlight – it’s just not a pretty look. My favourite shades from this palette are the mauve shade (bottom row, 2nd shade from the left) & the bronze shade (bottom row, 2nd from right) as these shades give a more bold, popping highlight. In true Makeup Revolution style, the shades in this palette are pigmented & the range of shades caters to those who like a poppin’ highlight & also to those who prefer a more subtle glow.

DSCN1274

MUA Undress Your Skin (original pink shade)

MUA is a fantastic inexpensive brand in the UK & they make really great highlighters. If you haven’t tried any of their highlighters before & you have access to their products, please go out & buy some.  This was the first highlight shade that MUA came out with & was the first one I ever bought. I don’t wear light pink highlighting shades quite as often but when I do I reach for this shade. It’s easy to blend, doesn’t look powdery & it’s pigmented. A great shade for lighter skin tones!

DSCN1275

MUA Undress Your Skin in Opalescent Amber

Out of the three MUA highlighters I own this is my ultimate favourite (which is why I’ve almost hit pan). The shade of this highlighter looks a little intimidating in the pan but I promise you it looks so beautiful on the skin. It is such a pigmented colour that blends so effortlessly into your skin & looks stunning with a peach blush. For £5…it’s an absolute steal & compares with a lot of the high-end brands!

DSCN1276

Mary-Lou Manizer by The Balm

I’ve mentioned this highlighter before in my The Products I can Trust post as it is my ultimate, holy grail highlighter. You could take every other highlighter I own away from me if you just leave this one because I cannot be without my Mary-Lou. It is a beautiful light gold shade that comes in a large pan meaning that you get a lot of bang for your buck – I use this highlight at least three times a week & it still looks brand new! Whenever I go travelling this is the only highlighter I take with me because it goes with every single makeup look & gives my cheekbones a seriously poppin’ highlight.

DSCN1277

Topshop Glow in Gleam

It’s rare that I love a cream highlight because almost all of the product do not apply well, or look nice over foundation. I previously mentioned this product in my Current Beauty Favourites & even after a few months it’s still a firm favourite. I don’t wear this product quite as much now that it’s winter but when summer comes around again I know I’ll be pulling this baby out more often. It’s a beautiful bronze shade that looks stunning with tanned skin & if you apply a little extra you get a hell of a popping highlight too!

DSCN1278

MAC Strobe Cream

Last but not least is the infamous MAC Strobe Cream. I bought mine in the travel version as the large tube is relatively pricey & I wanted to test this product before I bought the full size version. This is one of MAC’s cult products & I can understand why! Strobe Cream moisturises the skin while the iridescent particles contained inside reflect light & make your skin glow in a subtle & natural way. My favourite way to use this product is before I apply my foundation to give my skin a more glowy finish without disturbing my foundation . Another of my favourite uses for this product is to apply all over my face when I’m not wearing makeup, e.g. on the beach, because it stops my skin looking dull & lifeless.

I’m always on the hunt for the next best highlighter – what are your favourites?

10 thoughts on “| My Best of the Best Highlighters |

  1. Pingback: | My Top Favourite Blushes | – Beauty & The Blouse

Leave a Reply

